ugh…

Ya know what, I cuss. A lot sometimes. However, I know there’s a proper time and place and all that. So many of you who know me in person may not realize that I’m a cusser… the point of all this you ask? Well, at this time and this place I’m gonna cuss. If you’re especially sensitive, it’s ok to turn away, stop reading or whatever, I don’t care. Right now I have the “it’s my blog and I’ll do what I want” kind of attitude. Please though, if you do stop reading today, do come back… y’all know I don’t cuss here on a regular basis.

Now, all that being said… I’m getting so fed up with this brace already. Maybe it’s the getting used to it.. thats what I keep telling myself but when the fuck does it get easier?!?! I cried at work on Friday because I was so annoyed at the things I couldn’t do or that it took me 3 times longer to do. (and yes, this whole “crying when not sad” is one of my biggest pet peeves about myself. Nothing like being so pissed you could spit nails and have the tears start to flow…) Driving is weird, even holding a damn book is awkward!! I’ve given up and started taking the brace off to get dressed or change clothes. My Mom and I went shopping today for her upcoming birthday party, I couldn’t help her pick up the heavy stuff and after the cart got very full I had to have help turning the corners. Grrrrrrr…..

And let’s not even get started on the fact that I have short little hands and two of the metal supports are already rubbing spots on my pinky and 1st finger joints. And I can’t even knit. OK, so maybe I can but I’m doing everything I can not to right now so hopefully this heals up and doesn’t become reoccurring.

I’m just fuckin’ sick of it already…

So, if you’ve gotten this far, thank you 🙂 I wish I had some pictures to show you… but I don’t. I can tell you though that I got some delightful “Mountain Mohair” from Becky at Knitter’s Knook (that was our first stop today…) and have done enough reading online that I think I could knit two socks on two circs in my sleep tonight but who knows how I’ll make out in reality. And I really am still reading all my regular blogs but sometimes typing is hard. Sometimes I just gotta bitch and so put up with it to get out a blog post…

And I’d also like to say here publicly that all of your comments, both here on the blog, by email or in person really do make a girl feel good. Thank you. Thank y’all!!

So now, we return you to your regularly scheduled blog reading…

13 responses to “ugh…

  1. I feel for ya hon. I once had to wear a cast for 6 weeks that went from my ankle to the very top of my leg because a brace for my torn knee ligaments weren’t enough. My leg was completely straight the entire time. Car rides were *a lot* of fun…as were baths (cause I couldn’t shower) and well, pretty much everything.

    Oh, and cuss all you want. Considering I dropped the f-bomb in a title the other day I obviously don’t mind (but had my own serious reservations about it before I was finally like, screw it I’ll just write what I want).

  2. Rage on, sister! Sometimes you’ve just got to express that sentiment.

    I know it’s got to be difficult … but it won’t be forever. Really, it won’t! Right??

  3. I’m sorry…maybe you need to stuff some fiber under the corners for soothing comfort?!
    Hang in there, I feel your pain!

  4. I’m sorry to hear you’re so miserable. Go ahead, cuss all you want, that’s what those words are for. How long do you have to wear the brace?

    Just wanted to let you know, I used the needles you sent me to weave in ends on the mitten I knit, they worked wonderfully! I love them! I still don’t like weaving in ends, but they made it so much nicer to do so.

  5. heh…so… you call that cussin’? hee.
    Hang in there, sweets, hopefully things will get a little easier and in the meantime there will be healing taking place!
    Cuss On! (I’ll even do a bit for you!)

  6. Hey, a rant is good for the soul in my opinion! Hang in there if you can for at least a little while more….your poor tired and healing arm will thank you. However, it does give one an appreciation for what it’s like to function in this world with even the smallest of handicaps!

  7. Ranting helps me sometime I know that!! I feel for ya and I hope it ends soon and your wrist can be back to normal.

  8. That stinks! I hate when I Have to wear my brace, altho I must say that yours is much longer than mine is. mine only comes up little past my wrist. The fingers are more open as well. Maybe call and see if they can get you a different brace so it doesn’t rub as bad. And hon, rant as much as you want, its your blog and if I didn’t want to read about your life I wouldn’t be here. Okay, back to the shadows to lurk around some more!

  9. Aww Sweetie,
    I am so sorry the brace is giving you ‘cussitis’..but sometimes you just have to express yourself and you did so beautifully.
    Hang in there Nikki..once it’s better, you will be happy you did..(yeah, I can say that as I sit here braceless)…and I’m with Marianne..I can help you with your cussing..HUGS!!~
    The yarn sounds wonderful..can’t wait to get back to Becky’s…

  10. There’s nothing like saving up the bad words for a special occasion – makes them much more satisfying.

    I would be beyond grumpy if I had to wear an annoying brace so hang on in there and I hope it gets better soon.

    When you feel better, learning a bit of crochet might be good as it will change the stresses on your fingers so that you can rest by mixing it in with your knitting.

    Great minds think alike….

  11. Oops – I meant to say learning the magic loop/ two circulars!

  12. Awwww…you hang in there! Pad the brace so you won’t get blisters/tender spots and just keep reminding yourself that you’re healing. Be patient with yourself (and cuss liberally – – I enjoyed that). 😉

Leave a Reply

